top of page

Mayne Football Club

Mayne AFC

Collings makes it five times Club Champion

Jack Collings made Mayne Tigers history last night being awarded his fifth Keith Beavis Club Champion Trophy at Tattersalls at the Annual Presentation Night capping an extraordinary couple of very challenging years. Collings has had a horror run of injuries in the last two seasons suffering an ACL and a recurrence of a back complaint which might have ended most footballer's careers. He has fought his way through dedicated rehabilitation programmes to hit back with arguably the best form of his stellar career. He also collected a milestone award for achieving 150 games during the 2023 season.

The Keith Beavis Trophy was presented by Rod Barber who gave the predominantly young audience a history lesson on the Tigers famous award regaling everyone on the impact that Keith had on the life of the club.

Zac Quin took out the Andrew Housego Runner Up Best and Fairest Trophy after a very impressive season. Quin missed the last few games of the season after suffering a year ending injury.

Jack Coghlan was awarded the Third Best and Fairest Trophy on the back of a season limited by work and other commitments. One can only wonder what could be if he were to play the full roster.

Zac McLean took out the Most Consistent Trophy for another impressive season while carrying the responsibility of the Club Captain along the way.

In other awards for the Senior team, Zac Quin also took out the Mick Nolan Player’s Player Award while youngster Callum Ferguson was awarded the prestigious Everton Award for the local Rising Star. The Everton Award was presented by Danny Craven as a now duel Life Member of the Mayne and Everton Football Clubs.

Louis Quin was awarded the Best Team Player while James Stolz was judged to be the Most Improved.

Dean Hartley was awarded the Best Player in Finals in a vintage performance for the ages.

Mayne Tigers much loved Coach Josh Duffy formally announced he was standing down as the Senior Coach after eleven years as a player and Coach. He has been a wonderful servant of the Tigers over this extended period having two senior premierships as a player, three Reserve Grade premierships, two of which he was the coach to his credit. He coached the Seniors to a Grand Final in 2020 and but for some unfortunate luck with player injuries, could have gone all the way. He is also a Life Member of the Mayne Tigers. Josh and his beautiful partner Alicia Zadow are expecting their first child in a few weeks ending one part of his life and starting a new and exciting one.

Tim Lyons was awarded the Graham Walters Best and Fairest Trophy and the Peter Ives Players Player Award in a comprehensive sweep of the second grade awards for his incredible season which was capped off with a Premiership Medallion.

The Runner Up Trophy in the Reserve Grade went to Nick Galvin who had a very impressive year. Galvin also made his senior debut during 2023 playing six important games in the higher grade in the midfield.

In other awards for the Reserves Sam Craigie had a breakout year to win the Most Improved, Sandy Valentine the Best Team Player and Matthew Storey the Best Player in the finals.

In the Women’s Awards, Erin Eldon went one better than last year to win the Glenda Barber Best and Fairest Trophy. Dakodah Cott took out the Runner Up Best and Fairest Trophy in a close finish with Erin.

In other awards for the Women, Molly Nelson was judged Most Consistent, Grace Mahoney the Most Courageous, Paige Weddell the Players Player, Alisha Fagg the Coaches Award and Steph Burton the Most Improved.

Jordan Cabot was awarded the Mayne Tigers Third Grade Best and Fairest Award for his impressive season for the Friday Night Specialists.

In other awards for the Third Grade, Bryce Lewis was awarded Runner Up Best and Fairest, Liam Mulcahy the Most Consistent, Lachlan Settle the Most Courageous, Dan Cook the Players Player, Lachlan McCormack the Coaches Award and James Kasch the Most Improved.

27 views0 comments


bottom of page