top of page

Mayne Football Club

Mayne AFC

Daniel Schmidt is the Top Tiger for 2022

The Mayne Tigers held their Annual Presentation and Club Champion night at Tattersalls Club last night in fine style with a record attendance for this event. It has been many decades since the club filled a room of this size, testimony to the work undertaken this year and the enjoyment had by all over the course of the 2022 Season.

Tigers President Russell Ditchburn gave his usual address remarking that we must be doing something right acknowledging the work of the Committee, the Coaching and Football Department as well as all the wonderful volunteers and supporters who create the wonderful culture that we all enjoy.

Master of Ceremonies Campbell Shaw was in fine form setting the scene for the night and ensuring the evening went to time so that everyone was able to enjoy the last quarter of the Brisbane Lions exciting win on two giant screens.

The culmination of the evening was the awarding of the Club Champion and Keith Beavis Trophy to a much deserved Daniel Schmidt. The Trophy was presented by Life Member Rod Barber. In summing up Daniel’s achievements, Coach Josh Duffy acknowledged Schmidt’s incredible journey back from a very serious injury in 2021 to be the Tigers top man for 2022.

Coach Duffy left the audience in no doubt that he has much unfinished business after three seasons, three finals series but no ultimate silverware. He will be looking to raise the bar again for 2023 to match the improving competition.

The Andrew Housego Runner Up Best and Fairest for 2022 was 2021 Club Champion Zac Quin who left to go overseas in June and did not play the back half of the season in what could possibly have been a back to back effort.

Club Captain Zac McLean took out the Third Best and Fairest for his great season as he fought his way through injury and illness to lead the Tigers into another finals series.

Former Everton Junior Zac Puncken retuned to Mott Street this year to slot straight into the Senior lineup and didn’t take long to make a big impression as he took out the Mick Nolan Player’s Player Award while another very promising Everton Junior Ryan Doolan took out the Everton Sporting Club Award as the Tigers Rising Star.

Sixteen year old dynamo Tom Fry was awarded the Best First Year Player for his stellar season while Kyle Henry had a breakout year to be the Most Improved Player in the Senior Grade.

Sam Threlfall was a much deserved Best Team Player while Jack Collings was the Best Player in the Finals series.

In a remarkable effort Danny Evans took out his sixth Graham Walters Best and Fairest Award for the Reserve Grade after nearly giving the game away at the beginning the season.

Maegan Dick took out the Glenda Barber Best and Fairest Award in the Women's team while Josh Geurts was the winner of the John Laing Best and Fairest Award in the Third Grade.

22 views0 comments


bottom of page